About Spokes

Spokes is an active autocross club, based in Austin TX, and founded in 1951. It’s made up of a bunch of car-enthusiasts that like to show off their capabilities as drivers as well as their cars.

We hold 10-12 autocrosses a year, on Saturdays or Sundays (depending on the venue). We party together several times a year and many of us hit the road to compete in the bigger regional/national out of town events. We head out several times a year to places like Riverside Annex (College Station), Mineral Wells, Texas Motor Speedway, Lincoln Nebraska for the National Championships, and as well as others. We’re known throughout the country and always do our share at bringing home some hard earned trophies.

Spokes adheres to the rules and classes set by the SCCA with a few extra ones thrown in to suit our local needs. We have extended the classes to include several pax classes (normal classes grouped together) that provide for closer competition.

We have drivers that are very serious about the sport, those who run just for the pleasure of it, and those who just like to hang out with ‘car guys and gals’. Most any car will do; it’s fun no matter what. We have an easy going attitude and never let competition stand in the way of FUN.

Board of Directors

Board Positions are very important seats and provide the greatest amount of input that affect the entire club. They also provide the most amount of work to make the club run smoothly. Participation is the key to any successful organization to succeed, Spokes being no exception! On many occasions the Board members have gone above and beyond the course of duty to get a job done and that is something to be quite proud of. It is vital for the clubs benefit to obtain full support and backing from the membership. Volunteers and a willingness to do a fair share provides the basis for a successful and smooth running club.

2021 BOD

President Rick Martinez president@spokes.org
Vice President Tom Holt vice_president@spokes.org
Executive Treasurer Aaron Prince treasurer@spokes.org
Executive Secretary Jeff Warden secretary@spokes.org
Timing & Scoring Minh Nguyen timing@spokes.org
Equipment Manager Jon Krystinik equipment@spokes.org
Tech Inspector Anthony Oliveri tech@spokes.org
Worker Chief Daniel Sato worker_chief@spokes.org
Novice Chief Jason Kupka novice@spokes.org
Marketing/Social Media Vivek Goel marketing@spokes.org

Previous Presidents

  • 2020 Rick Martinez
  • 2019 Rick Martinez
  • 2018 Nick Gruendler
  • 2017 Nick Gruendler
  • 2016 Nick Gruendler
  • 2015 Nick Gruendler
  • 2014 Jerry Centanni
  • 2013 Jerry Centanni
  • 2012 Jerry Centanni
  • 2011 Rick Martinez
  • 2010 Rick Martinez
  • 2009 Rick Martinez
  • 2008 Rick Martinez
  • 2007 Rick Martinez
  • 2006 Rick Martinez
  • 2005 Greg Ward
  • 2004 Greg Ward
  • 2003 Greg Ward
  • 2002 Brian Siminski/Tommy Regan
  • 2001 Dan Pedroza/Brian Siminski
  • 2000 Dan Pedroza
  • 1999 Tom Ramey
  • 1998 Tom Ramey
  • 1997 Tom Ramey
  • 1996 Tom Ramey
  • 1995 Tom Ramey
  • 1994 Mike Hesse
  • 1993 Mike Hesse
  • 1992 Bill DeBacker
  • 1991 Ed Gilfus
  • 1990 John Graef
  • 1989 Ward Marshall
  • 1988 Ward Marshall
  • 1987 Tom Ramey
  • 1986 Tom Ramey
  • 1985 Ray Ritchie
  • 1984 Skip Gurnee
  • 1983 Larry Appleby
  • 1982 Joe Roddy
  • 1981 Howard Phillips
  • 1980 Tom Moore
  • 1979 Butch Dennis
  • 1978 Butch Dennis
  • 1977 Dave Howard
  • 1976 Larry Appleby
  • 1975 John Musgrove
  • 1974 Joe Vining
  • 1973 Larry Appleby
  • 1972 Joe Vining
  • 1971 Del Grosenheider
  • 1970 Tony Ball
  • 1969 Phil Gerrow
  • 1968 Larry Appleby
  • 1967 Rod Allen
  • 1966 Jon Hornaday
  • 1965 Martin Grantham
  • 1964 (No Record)
  • 1963 Arthur Harper
  • 1962 Joe McCroskey
  • 1961 David Bland
  • 1959 (No Record)
  • 1958 Bill Estes
  • 1957 Capt. Bob Weaver
  • 1956 Capt. Bob Weaver
  • 1955 Earlton Smith